The Kids are Alright

You will remember I said I wanted to talk about fostering.  I will be short and to the point.  Whilst I was in charge of Children and Young People at Coventry City Council, the resilience of children never failed to both impress and inspire me.  Some of their stories were both heartbreaking and encouraging all at the same time because of the abuse or neglect they had suffered, yet their eternal optimism that things would improve for them shone through.  Walk just a mile in their shoes I would think and my outlook would be so different.

In Coventry we have many children in the care system that need looking after and need help to believe that their future can be a better one.  You can help make that happen.  Fostering a child can make a huge difference both to them and to you.  They need love and support which they can and do give back in spades.  I have asked before for more adopters which we need yet often fostering is the correct outcome for the child.  If you don’t believe me, believe the testimony of a young man I know who was fostered in Coventry.  He said simply: “I was so lucky to be fostered.”

Inspiring. 

Can you help?  I know you can.  Make a call and make a difference.

Telephone: 024 7683 2828 

 Email: family.placement@coventry.gov.uk                                                                 

 Or visit: www.coventry.gov.uk/adoptionandfostering

Leave a Reply

